top of page

Persuasion Reflection


Dear Reader,


This past semester, I learned a lot about the art of persuasion (in communications) through my COMM 333 course, taught by Dr. Lietzenmeyer. I believe that my professional growth through internships and conferences was complemented by the reflective and eye opening aspects of this course. Before COMM 333, I hadn’t began any type of professional CV or eportfolio. I had only conducted course specific pages, while I was able to expand beyond that with this eportfolio. This course has definitely prepared me in technology based professional profiles.

Before this course, I wasn’t crazy about the Wix interface. At 18 years old, I didn’t feel it was user friendly. After 2 courses (including this one) during my senior year, this interface makes more sense, and I am able to use it with ease. Setting it up was difficult, but I was able to get the hang of it. I liked that this eportfolio wasn’t exclusive of my experiences outside of COMM 333. I was able to incorporate what my career goals were, as well as an electronic resume which I hadn’t done before.

My favorite assignment under the eportfolio was the artifact analysis. When I started at Old Dominion University, I started shopping religiously with the Guess Inc. company. My junior year, I became employed with the company and kept the position ever since. I can proudly say that my closet it 99% Guess clothing. Unfortunately on April 4th, 2017 (shortly after this assignment) my store closed indirectly due to the new Norfolk Outlets coming this summer. In summary, it is safe to say that this reflective piece felt natural with the end of senior year.

As stated above, the most challenging aspect of this eportfolio was learning the interface of it. I usually do not jump into new technology based avenues to forward my education. I didn’t even make my first PowerPoint until 8th grade. I was (and still am) resistant to new technologies. So it was slightly uncomfortable for me to transition between Blackboard, PLE, and WIX throughout the semester. It made this course and semester very interesting nonetheless.

Once the first blog post of the semester is completed, everything else falls into place. The technologies explored in this course are nothing to be afraid of. My biggest learning curve was going through a higher level course without my classmates or instructor as an immediate, in person resource. I never felt that they were out of reach, but I took the environment to grow more as a modern professional. I recognize that the future is full of emails and computers – so we all have to keep pace or fall behind.

If it wasn’t apparent by now, I am slow to pick up new technologies. That doesn’t mean I won’t eventually use them. It was interesting utilizing technologies beyond Blackboard, however I do feel more prepared in utilizing new things for my Masters (and beyond) courses. I know that being a Student Affairs Professional includes interacting with the students of tomorrow, and I will need to know how to connect and learn with them. This includes keeping up with the technologies of today and tomorrow.

Beforehand, I didn’t think much of advertisements, or the way visuals and communications is portrayed in the media (and etc.). My view of Persuasion has most definitely expanded beyond what it used to be. Each module included food for future thought as I explore the world outside of college. As a Guess employee, I had thousands of emails and communications given to me. Now I see it (retail) in a different light. Each individual piece of advertisements and speeches make sense to me now. I even think about Persuasion concepts as I conduct small talk with supervisors and friends. In all, I feel exponentially more equipped to experience the communication styles of the world with a more educated view.


Sincerely,

Ian Christopher D. Ulep

Old Dominion Class of 2017


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page